Members Account Page
Please Note: To see this option in the front end, you must be logged in as any other Wordpress Role other than Admin, or you can use the 'View As' option. We do not allow the option to delete an admin user as this would delete your credentials from Wordpress all together stopping you from getting in.
Account Settings on the front end of your website is a page dedicated to allowing your users to access the important settings that they are able to alter to suit their preference.
In order to create this page you will need to activate the ‘Account Settings’ component by navigating to wordpress admin then Buddyboss - Component.
Once you have done this you then have the option to add this page wherever you like in your menu structure for you members to access, you can do this by navigating to Appearance - Menu.
If you click on the account menu you will see all the options available to your members.
Here members have the ability to change their ‘Account Email’ and ‘Password’
The first tab within this page is ‘Preferences’. Preferences allow the member to turn on or off how each notification is sent to them such as by ‘Email’ ‘Web’ and ‘App’.
The second tab within Notification Settings is ‘Subscriptions’. Subscriptions allows your members to manage any notification subscriptions they may have to Groups Forums and Discussions.
This notifications setting is only available once you have turned the notification component by navigating back to your wordpress admin Buddyboss - Component. You can then setup the notification setting by navigating to Buddyboss - Settings - Notifications.
Privacy allows your members to change what profile data is visible and to whom from their profile.
Public - Allows your members data to be seen by everyone. Logged in or logged out members depending on how private you have set your site overall.
All Members - This allows all members that are logged in only to see this data.
My Connections - Only the members Connections can see this data. This option is only available if you have activated Connections on your site by navigating back to your wordpress admin Buddyboss - Components.
Only Me - This allows only the Member whos profile is logged in with to see this data.
Lastly, there is some data that you expect your members to fill in and is vital to the usability of your site and want to remove the option for your members to change the visibility of certain data. This can be done when setting up your Profile Fields and selecting to Enforce you can find this by navigating back to your wordpress admin Buddyboss - Profile - Profile Fields.
This is where your members can manage any members they may have blocked. This Moderation setting is only available once you have turned the Moderation component by navigating back to your wordpress admin, Buddyboss - Component. You can then setup the Moderation setting by navigating to Buddyboss - Settings - Moderation to adjust these settings.
Allows your members to only receive Group Invites from only their Connections. Again this option is only available if you have the Connections component active on your Buddyboss site.
Due to the EU GDPR which refers to their privacy and data protection policy, you must provide your members to be able to export their own data from your site. We have further articles. If you would like to understand more about how our export data feature works, please see our ‘How to Configure GDPR’ video
Allowing members to delete their account is up to you and can be added or removed from the user account settings by navigating back to your wordpress admin Buddyboss - Settings - General. The very first option is a check box asking if you would like your members to be able to delete their own account.
When active your members can find these options here within Account Settings.
All these settings have more in depth articles and how to videos for step by step setup guides created, so please be sure to check them out.
Did you find it helpful?Send feedback